Oscars

This year I ended up watching the Oscar broadcast, after a five year break.  I wanted to see the Oscars because I had already seen two of the movies nominated (Lincoln and Argo) for the best picture and want to see at least two more (Les Miserables and Zero Dark Thirty) in theaters and  catch some of the other nominees when they are released on DVD.

Seth McFarlane: was a so-so host. I didn’t find his jokes and opening routine either funny or offensive, it was kind of meh.  May be I am not in the demographic he appeals to. I did not even know who he was when they announced that he would be the host of this year’s Oscars. My verdict, not edgy, borderline tasteless and inappropriate for the occasion and unfunny. Reminded me of the humor of adolescent boys. You know who I think would be a good host, Jerry Seinfeld. I wonder why he hasn’t ever hosted the Oscars or Steven Colbert, that man is a genius.

Clothes:  Well who are we kidding like most of the audience I was mainly watching for all the pretty clothes and the bling. Fusion of art deco and Star Trek seemed to be the theme of many of the dresses.  Also, shorter hair for women and facial hair for men. Bracelets seemed to the most favored accessory. I was also jealous seeing everyone in off shoulder and strapless gowns, while I am still trudging in three layers, long underwear and my parka and LLBean boots. I hear that another snow storm is on its way tomorrow. I can has spring now?

Best Dressed Actress: Charlize Theron

Best Dressed Actor: Daniel Day Lewis

Best Speech : Daniel Day Lewis

DANIEL26F_1_WEB

Awards: As for acting awards I had not seen any of the movies save Lincoln, so I can’t judge. I did think that Daniel Day Lewis would add another statuette to his collection and I was right. Ang Lee won for the Life of Pi. The movie does seem a bit orientalist to me from its previews,  like a later day Jungle Book. I thoroughly enjoyed Argo (review coming up shortly) so was happy to see it take the honors for the Best Picture.  Did the Academy ask the  First Lady to co-present the Best Picture award because they expected Lincoln to win?

Michelle Obama:  Her dress was keeping with  theme of art deco meets  Star Trek. I think it would have been so much more fun if she were there in person. The collective explosion you would have heard would be the heads of the right wing pundits exploding simultaneously.

Posted on March 1, 2013, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

