Sweet and Sour Summer Drink with Green Mangoes

On a hot summer day, there is nothing  quite as refreshing as an ice-cold beverage that hits both sweet and sour notes. There is the basic lemonade and its variants, of course.   In the land of perpetual heat and sun that is coastal Maharashtra, in addition to the lemonade, or nimboo pani, there is punhe’.

Punhe’ is a special summer time treat  made with unripe green mangoes available only in March and April.   Green mangoes are also used as a souring agent like tamarind or lime.  I drank punhe’ in copious amounts in my futile attempts to keep cool in the heat of May.  Recipe below the fold:

IMG_5185_1

Punhe’

 

Ingredients

  • 2 to 3 cups of water
  • 4 unripe, hard as a rock green mangoes, I used Tom Atkins since they are readily available in the grocery store.
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1 tsp grated nutmeg
  • a few strands of saffron if you are feeling particularly indulgent.
  • Juice of 2 limes, preferably key limes

Add water to the sauce pan till the mangoes are completely submerged.  Bring the water to a boil.  If you are adding saffron, add it now.  Reduce the heat to medium low and continue cooking till the mangoes are completely cooked through and soft to touch, about fifteen minutes. 

Extract all the pulp when cool enough to touch, reserve half the water and discard the pits and the skin.

Mash with a potato masher or use a blender and gradually add the reserved water

Add the salt and sugar to the mashed mango mixture, add the spices

Your concentrate is ready.  This will keep in the fridge for two weeks, longer if you keep it in the freezer.

To make individual servings  

  • 2 tbsp of the concentrate
  • 6 oz of water

Mix well

Taste the mixture, add more salt or sugar if you think the mix needs more, you can even add about 1/4 of a lime if you are a fan of sour things like I am.

Add ice cubes or crushed ice

Enjoy!

For a recipe of Mango Lassi, click here.

Posted on July 12, 2014, in Drink, Food, India and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Looks way refreshing!

  2. Hi Ms Cat,

    I thought I would reply here instead of the B-J blog,

    The physical therapy is so far more like 4 easy yoga movements, stretching my neck. The movements were selected during the process of interviewing me about where I have pain and/or numbness in my arms and shoulders. The PT guy is really good, specializes in spinal therapy, very conservative about advise. One is a little bit of a stretch so I’m taking my time getting into it.

    One of the big issues is that there is both neurological pain from my neck and actual damage to my shoulders from 2 motor vehicle accidents, so far we’re working on the neck issues almost completely.

    The first accident was in May 2013 when I was rear-ended while stopped at a red light.

    Then last March, driving back to West Virginia from vacation in Arizona, we rolled our pickup all the way over to the right back onto the wheels, and stopped back in the median.

    In the passenger seat, I took a blow to my shoulder and to my right side of my head, which put me out for maybe a minute or so – passing by EMTs on their way to ski were to the truck in just moments. The wife (driving at the time) was shook up, and won’t drive a big truck now. We got her a VW Tiguan to use around the countryside visiting neighbors.

    If I’m still, I don’t hurt much at all. If I’m active, from doing dinner, washing a skillet, driving, things do hurt, and I have lost some range of motion, especially reaching back behind me. Evidently the cervical spinal issues may have little to do with either accident. The exercises help, and I do them now many times instead of taking pain medication. I’m 63, and intend to be active regardless of these injury issues.

    I tell folks, we are both walking and talking, and making sense, so that’s all good! Thanks for expressing your concern.

    I’m more worried about John than I am myself!

    Take care, best wishes,
    JR in WV

    • Thanks for the update JR. Physical therapy can be painful but it works. I haven’t dealt with serious injuries like the ones you describe but I have fractured my foot more than once. Good luck with the recovery and PT.

Leave a Reply

