Michelada with Rock Salt Rocks

My take on the Mexican cocktail with beer.  Easy and a delicious way to spice up not so hot beer.   For one serving you will need,

Ingredients

1. 8 oz. Beer

2.  4 oz. Coke

3.  1/4 teaspoon rock salt *

4.  1/4 teaspoon soy sauce

5.    1/4 teaspoon Sriracha

6.   1/4 lime preferably key lime

The beer and the Coke should be chilled. Mix all the ingredients, enjoy.  Add ice if you want.

Variations:  I have replaced the Coke with Coke Zero,  if I do that  I also add about a tea spoon of sugar to the mix.  Root beer is not traditional but works as well.  I have tried this drink with Corona, Dos Equis and Sol but any lager should work.

*I usually get my rock salt from the International Grocery store in my neighborhood. It comes in chunks which you will need to grind.  You can go low tech with a mortar and pestle or high tech with a coffee grinder.  Rock salt is great in a spicy lemonade or on chunks of fruit such as pineapple.  This rock salt comes from India and is  of a dark pinkish hue.

ETA:  Now that I think of it Sol worked better than Dos Equis.  Moral of the story, milder the beer the better Michelada will taste.

Posted on December 19, 2013, in Drink, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This looks phenomenal. Easily my favorite summer drink.

    Have a peek at my blog if you’d like – recipes, eclectica, and good stuff abounds. https://sidedishesblog.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment